SAF2005-UDT - Backhoe/Loader Safety Training Course - UDT (FWS HEAVY EQUIPMENT COORDINATOR USE ONLY)

Course CodeSAF2005-UDT
Course TitleBackhoe/Loader Safety Training Course - UDT (FWS HEAVY EQUIPMENT COORDINATOR USE ONLY)
Description
  • Availability:  FWS EMPLOYEES / AFFILIATED PERSONNEL ONLY who operates Service-owned, leased, or rented backhoe / loader.  Contact your appropriate Regional Heavy Equipment Coordinator to register for the course.  
  • Pre-Requisite:  Completion of the Web-based Heavy Equipment Pre-Class Training course FWS-SAF-HE-PRECLASS-OLT is required prior to attending Heavy Equipment Safety Training.  
  • Description:  This course provides the training required in FWS Policy, 321 FW 1, to permit operation of Service-owned, operated, rented, or leased backhoe / loaders and is designed to familiarize employees, volunteers, and partner operators with the safe operation and preventative maintenance of backhoe / loaders.  The course includes classroom and field operation instruction. 
  • Objectives:  Provide operators with the skills and knowledge necessary that will allow them to make informed decisions about their own safety, the safety of those around them, and the backhoe / loader.  Also, allows attendees to demonstrate, through written examinations and actual demonstration, that they have the skills and knowledge to safely operate a backhoe / loader in accordance with Service policy, manufacturer specifications and industry standards. 
  • Length of Course:  Determined by class size but typically takes 1 day / 8hrs.  Training consists of at least 4 hours classroom study and no less than 1 hour of field operation (seat time) per student 
  • NOTE:  Heavy Equipment Operator refresher course is required 3-years after completion of this course in order to maintain authorization to operate. Refer to FWS-SAF-HE-REFRESH-OLT, Heavy Equipment Safety Refresher OLT Course for details.  

FWS Regional Heavy Equipment Coordinators contact information:

National Coordinator John Blitch 703-358-2190 John_Blitch@fws.gov
Region 1 Spencer Berg 503-231-6822 spencer_berg@fws.gov
Region 2 Ed Bass 505-248-6607 Ed_E_Bass@fws.gov
Region 3 Dale Pittman 309-535-3151 Dale_Pittman@fws.gov
Region 4 Stan Zazado 404-398-1855 Stan_Zazado@fws.gov
Region 5 Bill Starke 413-253-8581 Bill_starke@fws.gov
Region 6 Wade Briggs 605-256-1081 Wade_Briggs@fws.gov
Region 7 Thomas Siekaniec 907-786-3344 Thomas_Siekaniec@fws.gov
Region 8 Dave Henderson 916-978-6158 dave_henderson@fws.gov

Delivery MethodOnline Self Study
Non-FWS Fee$0.00
Instructional Hours8
Credits/CEUs0.0
Course Content ContactRegional FWS Heavy Equipment Coordinators; ;
Curriculum CategorySafety
Registration CategoryHeavy Equipment Safety Coordinators
Registration LinkRegister
DOI LEARN Course TypeUDT
Extracted from DOI LEARN on6/28/2017 3:30:22 AM

Schedule:  SAF2005-UDT - Backhoe/Loader Safety Training Course - UDT (FWS HEAVY EQUIPMENT COORDINATOR USE ONLY)

StartEndLocationSession Contact
Self Study Online